Canadian Idol
Well, in what I like to call a very spontaneous turn of events, yesterday morning I randomly went to the Canadian Idol auditions. Funny thing is the actual first time I TRULY considered going was midnight the night before. It was really a first-rate convincing job by my brother, who in all sincerity said he believed in me.
The Toronto auditions were in fact supposed to be over as of Monday, but were extended for whatever reason to like 12 noon on Tuesday being the last time you could register. So I arrived at around 11am. It wasn't really that busy, compared to previous years (from what I heard) or the huge turnouts American Idol gets. I signed up, got a number, and sat and waited in a huge room in the bowels of the Metro Convention Centre. After almost 4 hours, they got to my number. The round 1 auditions were group auditions; I went in with 3 other people, each singing one after the other.
I wonder what round 2 is like.
At first I was really bummed out/depressed, and after that just semi-bummed for most of the rest of the day. The more I thought about it, the sillier it became. They never made any comment to me except "nicely done/great job" or something like that. Then they dismissed my whole group. So without any comments, without knowing what it is they wanted that I didn't provide, I couldn't learn anything from it, really. There were also a LOT of really excellent singers I heard down there rehearsing, and then emerging from the audition rooms empty-handed. It makes me wonder what exactly they're looking for. I guess it has to do with a lot more than just singing ability. Or maybe it has little to do with singing ability at all.
FYI - I sang I believe I can fly. Thought it was one of my better performances... Oh well.
------------------------------
Gig this thursday! Should be fun. We have no set list yet. This means an increased chance of lyrical failure. Perhaps I should get on that. This is almost my last week of work, and, co-op. This means that starting Monday I'm back in Waterloo for the whole summer! That sucks more than not making it past the first round. Not really looking forward to this school term too much.
Seacrest out.


3 Comments:
Hey no worries about Cdn Idol seeing as if you watch the show, you really don't feel like they deserved it anyway. It's a big marketing thing.
I'm in London this summer... we should hang.
6:11 AM, April 30, 2005
You're in London this summer?? Really, what for?
3:13 AM, May 01, 2005
you fool! shes in london to see the queen... duh.
the boons is right. its all marketing. music means nothing anymore... case in point: L&L
11:42 AM, May 01, 2005
Post a Comment
<< Home