So, since everyone else is doing it, i figured I'd post my thoughts on the last gig in Barrie.
After over five months, I was quite nervous to hit the stage and perform again. However, it wasn't a fear one would associate with the nervousness which comes as consequence to a competetive setting like the band competition. It was more of a "damn, I haven't played in front of people in a really long friggin time". Despite occasional rehearsals and smooth runthroughs of our repetoire in the past, nothing it seems can truly prepare you for a performance.
So, at around 4pm, we (the band+joseph (from Tranquil)+ mike moss + danielle ) arrived at the foundation night club. We then proceeded to sign in and were "randomly" selected to go dead last in the order of bands. At 5 the competition began and the first band hit the stage. They were actually pretty decent for being together for less than a year (as I recall). Cracker and I began playing pool. We spent 1.50 on a bunch of games (the old calling pockets and grabbing them before they fall into them trick). This is when vertigo began kicking my ass hardcore. I felt overwhelmed with dizziness and nausea. Danielle ran accross to the drug store and brought back some gravol. I took two. Bad idea. The nausea was gone, but I was extremely drowsy for the rest of the night. SO, what was there to do? SLEEP IN MY CAR!
I slept for about 40 minutes and I was still drowsy. We went back inside the foundation as the sun was setting (more or less). I sat at the back where the sofas were keeled over, sipping a coke while Cracker ran through the lyrics of drink up boy. It was BEYOND out of it at this point. The room was ACTUALLY spinning. Not good. After some good (and not so good bands), a hardcore band went on and that cheered me right the hell up.
At around 8.45, the jim smith band was on deck and we began setting our stuff up. Still extremely dizzy, I got on stage and we began setting up. Now, I have a theory that adrenaline can take any amount of discomfort away (temporarily) before it kicks your ass after it wears off. Anyway, We opened the set with a rockin ' this is fun'. By then end of it, my throat was exceptionally dry. Like sandpaper! I shrugged it off, however. It was great to see complete strangers enjoying themselves. I caught a few smiles from members of other bands, as well as random others bopping their heads and dancing to the music.
We then promptly started "Drink Up Boy'. Man, I love this song. Talk about hard on the wrists! Anyway, people seemed to enjoy this one, so yeah! Mike tore this song up. oooh, that boy can play. After DUB, we started a very rockin ICE Jam. Mind you, I was truly unable to swallow at this point. I even mouthed 'GET ME WATER' to danielle and joseph in the audience, but to no avail. They were heavily into the songs. This song is so much fun to play, I can't even begin to describe it. It's the song I most commonly associate with a gig like this. It's apparent (or at least I think it is), that everyone- jim, steve, and scott (and mike), get really into it. We even threw in a G-UNIT! in there! It was awesome hearing the double bass. I love it when the drums are miced nicely!
lastly, we finished off the set with When We're there, but not before I stole steve's water and got a few sips in there. Oh man. That was a lot of fun.
We not only ended up winning that night, but had a LOT of fun. It was great to get back into the gig season like that. Had it been another venue- or a street festival, it wouldnt have been the same.
Special thanks to Joseph (Yoseph), and Danielle (boonie noonie) for making the trek with us.
Anyway, what the HELL am I doing typing this!? i have 2 problem sets due tomorrow! AHHH!
Hope to see everyone at the finals! Our sister band, Tranquil is also going to be there to kick some ass!
And a reminder! To all those reading this (yes...ALL OF YOU). We're playing at the Smiling Buddha Bar tomorrow (Thursday) at 9pm. Find one of us on msn for details or check the website for directions and....stuff.
Okay, I gotta jet. Take it easy, kemosabes